Skip to content

Communicating With Your Boss

November 22, 2009

Depending on your job, you might have a boss that gives off the image of intimidation, or maybe a boss that seems pretty down to earth and easy to talk to. Either way, whenever you communicate with that boss, it’s easy to feel a little overwhelmed because, well, they can fire you. So, whenever you are communicating with that boss, whether that be through the phone, e-mail, or face-to-face, you give off an impression of yourself–something that your boss is sure to associate with you the next time you interact. This article offers some tips on how to effectively communicate with your boss, and perhaps more importantly, leave a positive impression that might help you in the future.

Similar to what we’ve learned in class, the overarching theme in this article is to essentially make your communication “reader-centered.” You should understand the boss’s views on the topic you are discussing, understand his or her perspective, and to find out the little things about him or her as well. On top of that, this article recommends asking questions, staying positive in whatever you say, and to learn from how other workers interact with the boss. All of these suggestions seem reasonable, and would most likely help to foster improved communication between any employee and his or her boss. So, in the end, this article offers some good advice on how to communicate with your boss in a way that will achieve successful communication, as well as leave a positive impression of you with your boss. In the end, that’s really all you can ask for.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jenniyessa permalink
    November 23, 2009 1:09 pm

    I think this was a really good article. What I found particularly interesting was the first point, where the article suggests that an employee should watch how their boss communicates with them. I often struggle with this at my current job. I work in the dental school, and often times, my boss wants me to email him to let him know that I have completed a task. He will email me something like: “Jennifer– Please add the attached document to our website.” That’s it. No signature, no closing, nothing. When I respond to him just to tell him I’m done, I’m never really sure how to construct the email. Should I just imitate his informal style or should I draft a well-written email complete with introduction and conclusion? Normally, I just write a very simple, informal, yet professional email similar to his style. This article has helped me feel better and has let me know that that might be okay.

  2. Atobyne permalink
    November 28, 2009 2:32 pm

    I also liked this article. Starting a new job is hard especially if the boss is a little distant or cold. One of the hardest situations I was in was with a boss that was extremely passive aggressive. He would have other people hint to me at things that I may have been doing wrong. After a while I just became frustrated because I wanted someone to be up front with me. The article is interesting since it gives you some tips that encourage you to try and foster a relationship by reading signals that your boss sends you and not being too eager to develop a friendship.

  3. davidpeltz permalink
    December 5, 2009 1:11 pm

    I concur with both of these comments. Bosses can at times be so busy themselves they don’t have the time to communicate with all of their employees so it can be difficult to create a common relationship with them but that doesn’t mean someone shouldn’t try. Bosses are people too and if you get to know them it can be a great leg-up in the office. Sometimes the lack of communication can be frustrating but that doesn’t mean that your boss doesn’t care. The article does a good job offering ways to bridge the gap and people shouldn’t be so hesitant to communicate with their boss.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

